Let’s get this in proportion. There are 24,413 schools in England, or thereabouts, of which fewer than 150 are closed for a short time because of structural problems relating to a type of concrete that has outlived its safe life.
The Gilberd School was founded in 1912 as The Junior Technical School and in 1957 changed its name to The Gilberd School when girls were admitted. It moved to a new site in the 1970s.
“Lord Mansfield received important guests here, as they admired his books and Robert Adam’s stunning decoration. Adam drew on the architecture of ancient Roman buildings and his own theories about colour to create one of the most innovative late 18th century British interiors.” (Kenwood Guide)
Jeremy Clarke, who sadly died too young this year, and Matthew Parris, both columnists in The Spectator, bought cave houses in France and Spain respectively.